Cigarette smoking causes uncomfortable temperatures in an otherwise comfortable tempertured house…..

Posted: March 8, 2010 in Things that get me thinking

The other day my girlfriend and our friend went out the back door to smoke a cigarette.  I almost always stay inside when they smoke, since I do not smoke.  We have a wood burning stove that works really well to heat the house.   When the back door opens up though, the draft that enters the house makes an extremely noticeable difference in the temperature in the main room we hang out in.   I was sitting on the couch with another friend and we both agreed that:

  • Since they opened the door and went outside the house to smoke cigarettes, they have effectively made it less comfortable inside the house for us in terms of temperature.

AND ALSO

  • The wood burning stove will now take at least 45 minutes in order to get the room back to the temperature it was before they opened the door, to go outside to smoke their cigarettes.

I then decided that I should go outside, in order to bring to their attention how they had negatively affected us by their habit of smoking.  My main points of my argument upon confronting them outside, were supposed to consist and focus on our newly established lack of comfort in the room regarding our general feeling of warmth.

Before I started to argue this with them, I realized that:

  • I as well, had just opened up the door  to confront them

AND ALSO

  • I was displaying the very same behavior, by opening this door in my attempts at starting a fight, that I was going to confront them with in my argument.

I then came to the conclusion that:

  • Even though what I was planning on arguing with them was completely correct and an easy win for me, they were the type of people with the intelligence level to have at least a 50/50 shot of coming back at me, with the fact that I did the same exact thing that they did, by coming outside to bring this to their attention.

I then decided to save my energy for a fight in which I had a better than 50/50 chance of winning.  I chose to let them enjoy their bad habit (which was totally accepted amongst their peers when they were teenagers) without any arguments from me at all…………this time.

This is What Andrew Michaels is doing now…….

Comments
  1. Sarah E. says:

    Good call on the avoidance of the argument, better the draft than the psychosis ensued from taking Chantix to quit smoking!!!

  2. how is the hubby doing with that???

  3. Sarah E. says:

    He’s 2 months smoke-free and over 1 week off the Chantix and getting back to his usually mellow self. He has also taken up running after work and hobbles in sore and happy. Amazing, and I am still alive to tell the tale!

Leave a Reply

