My dentist and my current drug dependency issue….

Posted: February 4, 2010 in ALL ABOUT ME
Tags: , , ,

So I have had about two days in a row with less than stellar motivation to write.  I figured that rather than force it, I should just come back when I have some random shit to talk about.

I went to the dentist yesterday and I must say that I am impressed with what they can do in this day and age.  Usually I just either stare up at the weird light that is shinning on you, or I just close my eyes while they get busy.

I am pretty sure that if you wanted to, you could make full on eye contact with my dentist for minutes at a time while he was at work on your mouth, and he would have no clue that you were acting creepy with full on, close facial proximity, eye contact.  Dentists get paid a lot of money to be actively paying attention while they are at work.  This means that their full attention is dedicated to whatever they are doing to my tooth.

Most of us have jobs where we can almost release ourselves to some extent in our minds while we are doing something that most likely, we would rather not be doing.  I think that I have a pretty pimp job in terms of my schedule.  But don’t be fooled to think that I would rather be working my good scheduled job, instead of countless other things like: sleeping in, being a slob, indulging in food, video games, movies, television, not showering, not shaving, not exercising and not doing the laundry.  I think that my job and my girlfriend are the only things from stopping me from turning into a ridiculous piece of shit.  But thankfully I am a man of extremes, so after being an indulgent piece of shit for a few months, I will crash diet and exercise to the point of never wanting to diet again and never wanting to exercise again.  But at least I will be temporarily back to square one.

One of my many indulgences lead to a recent battle of drug dependency, and I can now relate to all others who have been battling with addiction.  A couple months ago I was battling a cold and decided to buy some nasal spray.  Nasal spray must be sent down from the heavens, because this shit really works.  Sometimes I have a headache, and no pill will do the job.  Every time that I have a stuffy nose, nasal spray does the job.

Before I realized it, I had been using nasal spray for a week and a half straight.  Upon telling this to my girlfriend on a Saturday night, she replied “That is not good, you need to stop taking that right now, you are addicted to it, and that is why you still have stuffy noses even though you are not sick”  My honest response was “Ok, I know I have a problem, but I just want to take it tonight one more time and I will start dealing with it tomorrow……”  I caught myself saying a classic denial to drug dependency statement.

I choose to stop taking the nasal spray that night and dealt with the awful withdrawal pains the next day which consisted of a stuffy nose for 24 hours, and then I was in the clear……I thought.

Last weekend we had people over and I relapsed.  I had the beginnings of a cold so I thought it would be a good idea to drink beers all night on Saturday.  With the beginnings of my cold, came a stuffy nose and I decided that I “would just take enough nasal spray to get a fix to feel “ok”….”  I openly admitted to the group to what I did in order to be “ok”, to hang out and do bodily harm along with them.  I stated that I would once again deal with the withdrawal symptoms the next day in order to hang out that evening without a stuffy nose all night.

I am not sure what my future holds in terms of my struggles with drug dependency.  All I can say is that I am dealing with this one day at a time and that I am 5 days clean and sober.

  • Please do not tell the crackheads that I now share something in common with them.
  • The next time you hang out with the crackheads, please under no circumstance reveal the contents of my blog.
  • I don’t want the crackheads to think that I will now side with them and maybe give them some more money since I now understand where they are coming from.
  • If you only see the crackheads in passing, please keep your lips sealed regarding my common struggles with them, and instead just keep on walking….

This is WhatAndrewMichaelsisdoingnow, sharing my thoughts about the dentist, and expressing my sincere desire to stay clean and sober one day at a time……

Comments
  1. Bill Milner says:

    At the risk of plunging you deeper into the abyss of addiction…let’s keep in mind that nasal spray is really just a gateway drug for what? THE NETI POT. I own one and use it for “maintenance” every now and then. See youtube demonstration video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQm7YpxgOnA

  2. Kate Sparks says:

    Wow! I was thinking the same thing. I neti about once a week and during my recent battle with a sinus infection I indulged daily. It’s a rather lovely feeling and when you’re done, you can take these wonderful deep breaths. You should video yourself trying it out!

  3. Bill Milner says:

    +1 on the Neti-Andy vid…that would make me chuckle.

  4. People seem to be all about this thing lately, others have talked about this to me as well. Speaking of others…..Is it true that the Mesopotamian people have been using it for 8000 years? (I made up that number) Do you think “the others” in the Temple use this remedy? I hope so……it must be awful not having nasal spray and this seems like a viable option in an ancient structure…..Does it burn your nasal passage?

  5. Bill Milner says:

    Doesn’t burn…just feels freakin’ weird…

  6. thanks for the new address, we got a kick out of that picture….

  7. Buka says:

    You are me…but you’re you…and that is what it is….okay? lol

Leave a Reply

